Institute of Politics

  • About
  • Board of Advisors

Board of Advisors

The Board of Advisors to the Institute of Politics includes a diverse group of leaders in civic life, politics, business and journalism. Board members offer their expertise and guidance to the Institute staff and meet annually in Chicago to review the Institute’s operation and programming.

Board of Advisors

David Axelrod

Founding Director of the Institute of Politics.

Stephanie Cutter

Partner, Precision Strategies
Former Deputy Campaign Manager for Barack Obama

Bob Dold

Former Member, U.S. Congress (R-IL) Partner, Forbes Tate

Ed Gillespie

Senior Executive Vice President, AT&T Former RNC Chairman

Larry Grisolano

Partner & CEO, AKPD Message and Media

Heidi Heitkamp (D-ND)

Former Member, U.S. Senate (D-ND) Co-founder and Chair of the One Country Project

Bill Kristol

Director, Defending Democracy Together, Editor-at-Large, The Bulwark Founder, The Weekly Standard

Ray LaHood

Co-Chair, Building America’s Future Former U.S. Secretary of Transportation

Isaac Lee

Executive Chairman, Exile Content Studio

David Muir

Former Director of Political Strategy for UK Prime Minister Gordon Brown

Shailagh Murray

Executive Vice President for Public Affairs, Columbia University Former Senior Advisor to President Barack Obama

Beth Myers

Co-founder, The Shawmut Group Former Senior Advisor to U.S. Presidential Candidate Mitt Romney

Bakari Sellers

Former South Carolina State Representative

Darren Reisberg

President, Hartwick College

Deval Patrick

Former Governor of Massachusetts

Bret Stephens

Op-Ed Columnist, New York Times

Karen Tumulty

Political Columnist, The Washington Post

Amy Walter

Publisher and Editor-in-Chief, The Cook Political Report

Howard Wolfson

Senior Advisor, Bloomberg Philanthropies

Ex Officio Member: Sofia Haft

Global Public Policy Manager, Snap, Inc.

Contact Form

Have Questions?

Newsletter Form

Stay Informed

Our emails are the best way to keep up-to-date on all of our events and programming.